Formatting number to currency in a UserForm

Jo Helge Rorvik

Office Version
  1. 365
Hi!
I'm new in this world, but have programmed for a while
The problem is that I want to format my TextBox such that it work for currency.
I've Tried this:

Private Sub UserForm_Activate()
Me.tb_Amount = Format(Me.tb_Amount, "$ #,##0.00")
End Sub

Private Sub tb_Amount_AfterUpdate()
If IsNumeric(Me.tb_Amount) Then
Me.tb_Amount = Format(Me.tb_Amount, "$ #,##0.00")
Else: Me.tb_Amount = ""
End If
End Sub

-The first I wonder is do I have to add something in the textbox to get .00 'The last 2 digits??
in UserForm_Activate
-The second AfterUpdate, the cursor jumps to the end of field, which means that I have to
use the arrows to get back to my focus point. Is there a way to select the position to cursor??
Do you get what I mean?
Thanks a lot for a great site.. :)
Jo-Helge

Excel Facts

Format cells as currency
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+4 to format cells as currency. (Shift 4 is the $ sign).
Consider applying the format to the exit event, because AFAIK, the control doesn't have a text format property (in Access it does, so that's really dumb) but the contents do. It's like you're trying to format nothing. Be aware that Format function coerces values to string data type, so that may come into play. Maybe simpler to just format the cells where your values are going to be put?

Upvote 0
Solution
Consider applying the format to the exit event, because AFAIK, the control doesn't have a text format property (in Access it does, so that's really dumb) but the contents do. It's like you're trying to format nothing. Be aware that Format function coerces values to string data type, so that may come into play. Maybe simpler to just format the cells where your values are going to be put?
Hello!
And thank you for your response!
I'm sorry for late answer, but I left the office for the evening.