Formula with Dynamic Variables

jooyoon82

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time on this forum because I've been stuck on this issue for a while now.

Basically I have five variables declared as strings/dates/times:
- tempStart
- tempEnd
- tempCurrency
- tempDealer
- InputDate

And I want this formula to be entered into the activecell (variables bolded):
=+BDH(tempCurrency &" "& tempDealer &" curncy","TRADE",TEXT(InputDate,"mm/dd/yyyy")&" "&TEXT(tempStart,"h:mm:ss AM/PM"),TEXT(InputDate,"mm/dd/yyyy")&""&TEXT(tempEnd,"h:mm:ss AM/PM"),"Dir=v","Dts=s","Sort=A","IntrRw=True","BrkrCodes=S","CondCodes=H")

Im having a hard time getting this into "vba code", can someone please help??

Thanks in advance,
Desperate Excel Rookie

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
Welcome to the Board!

Are these variables named ranges within the workbook or do you assign them values somewhere in the code?

I would maybe start by recording a macro by entering the formula with cell references or times that would be in place of those variables and then substituting the variables into the recorded code.

Hope that helps.

Upvote 0
Thanks for the quick reply!

They are actually signed within the code. I've tried to substitute them like you suggested, but some reason once they are defined in the code my formulas do not work.

Is there a formula builder or something in vba?

Upvote 0
I'm not sure what the BDH formula is and how it is used and I don't know exactly where quotes are supposed to be and not to be. What does the formula look like without the variables, with hard-coded data?

Upvote 0
BDH is a bloomberg formula, but it would be the same as if it were an if or a sum formula.

tempCurrency= AUD
tempStart= 4:56:00 AM
tempEnd= 5:01:00 AM
tempDealer= SGXX
InputDate= 9/11/2009

Sample Formula: