Generating a graph with a repeating x-axis

corbettw

Hello all,

Project: I have a set of chemical element concentrations (~20) at various depths in the subsurface. I would like to create a single graph that plots my y-axis as a depth of 0-50m and my x-axis to be a repeating logarithmic scale showing how each of the concentrations will vary with depth. (Some elements are 0-10ppm some are 500-1000ppm)

Currently I make ~20 single graphs of each element and combine them into one in adobe but there must be a faster way to do this.

Thank you very much.

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Could you link to an example of your chart?

I am new to this and not sure how to link an excel file. This is an example of the data I am working with.

Depth (m)Ba (PPM)Ce (PPM)Cr (PPM)Co (PPM)Pb (PPM)La (PPM)

<colgroup><col><col><col span="5"></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

Thanks.

Upvote 0
Something like this?

Hxq4oS0.png

Note that I've deleted the zero for Co at 2 m, because Excel will complain about zeros on a log scale.

Your Y values are in the first column, which is different than the conventional data Excel expects. Having multiple X series for one Y series is also opposite of the multiple Y for one X that Excel expects. So you'll have to do some extra work. (Shameless plug: my Excel charting add-in does this with only a couple clicks.)

Select the Ba(PPM) data (including the label in the first row) and insert an XY Scatter chart.

Click Select Data on the ribbon.

Select the Ba(PPM) series in the left-hand list, and click the Edit button.

In the X Values box, enter the range with the Ba PPM values, and in the Y values box, enter the range with Depths. Click OK.