Google Sheets compatibility

Celly

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello all,

So I have a large and complex spreadsheet that I've been developing for several years. It was designed largely using formulas for compatibility with Excel Online, which has been successful. Recently I did some testing with Google Sheets, and the results were not as good. The main issue I've encountered is "named ranges". These are essentially limited to static range references in Google Sheets. I have dozens and dozens of these which employ dynamic range expressions. Converting all of these to use helper cells and INDIRECT references is going to be brutal. Is there any hope here? Will Google ever improve the compatibility of this? It seems like a bust.

My application is here:

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Will Google ever improve the compatibility of this?
No idea but no reason why they should. Microsoft and Google aren't a partnership and Google have never stated that one of their aims was to make Sheets fully compatible with Excel.
Personally I would think that you would get more help with this by posting it on a Google Sheets forum rather than an Excel forum as most with Excel don't have much dealings with Google Sheets.

Upvote 0
That's fair, although I'd contend that the more compatible Google can make their offering, the more successful any "embrace and replace" strategy would be. It's not like we're expecting VBA to work.

I think I'm probably toast here, but I thought I'd do a bit of a fishing expedition before punting on it.

Upvote 0
although I'd contend that the more compatible Google can make their offering, the more successful any "embrace and replace" strategy would be.