How to automatically create new worksheet based on selecting data through Data Validation drop down

Sarrah91

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I have budgets of several departments and I need to send them details.

I have a master file with data validation, now I want to create multiple worksheets when I change or toggle with the data validation input. Is this possible?

I am currently doing it through the conventional way and it's tedious, taking the data to a separate worksheet, breaking the links saving to a separate workbook and then sending it over to the department.

For instance, from the screenshot below, let's say when I select 'A2' from the data validation list, I want a new sheet to be created with the name of 'A2'.

Attachments

• Screenshot.png
    Screenshot.png
    30.1 KB · Views: 17

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
Do you want the new sheet to be blank? It is hard to work with a picture. It would be easier to help if you could use the XL2BB add-in (icon in the menu) to attach a screenshot (not a picture) of your sheet. Alternately, you could upload a copy of your file to a free site such as www.box.com or www.dropbox.com. Once you do that, mark it for 'Sharing' and you will be given a link to the file that you can post here. Explain in detail what you want to do referring to specific cells, rows, columns and sheets using a few examples from your data (de-sensitized if necessary).

Upvote 0