Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2011
  4. 2010
  5. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Complete novice here but bumbling along, I have around 200k lines of source data by 35 columns, of which one of the columns call it TargetID can have repeat rows from 1 to 60,
I am trying to add a custom column that flags 1 if its the first instance of the targetid sequence and 0 if it aint
what I have below appears to work albeit very slowly
I have seen references to List.Buffer and Table.buffer to load things into memory but need some guidance to get my head around it, here is my current code gleaned from various searches, source is an external CSV file

Power Query:
let
    Source = logExport_Current,
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", each List.PositionOf( Source[TargetID], [TargetID]) ),
    #"Added Index" = Table.AddIndexColumn(#"Added Custom", "Index", 0, 1, Int64.Type),
    #"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Added Index", "Flag", each Number.From([Custom]=[Index])),
    #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Added Custom1",{"Custom", "Index"})
in
    #"Removed Columns"

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
This took about five seconds for 200,000 rows:

Power Query:
let
    #"Added Index" = Table.AddIndexColumn(Source, "Index", 0, 1, Int64.Type),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(#"Added Index", {"TargetID"}, {{"Idx", each List.Min([Index]), type number}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Grouped Rows", "Flag", each 1),
    #"Merged Queries" = Table.NestedJoin(#"Added Index", {"Index"}, #"Added Custom", {"Idx"}, "Flag", JoinKind.LeftOuter),
    #"Expanded Flag" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Merged Queries", "Flag", {"Flag"}),
    #"Sorted Rows" = Table.Sort(#"Expanded Flag",{{"Index", Order.Ascending}}),