Increment a string and place in new cell, maybe in an array?

canthony

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a string of text as follows:
B1-L1-A-S1-R1-C1

I need to increment different parts of the string while some may stay the same, and that new string is placed in a new cell which is then incremented and so on.

I need to do this many, many, many times.

I have a brand new workbook, no data.

Is there a formula that can accomplish this? Do I need to enter each set of data in the string in different cells and pull from there? I am relatively new to excel sheets such as this and would appreciate any advice/help.

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
I need to increment different parts of the string while some may stay the same, and that new string is placed in a new cell which is then incremented and so on.

Can you elaborate with an example?

Upvote 0
Sure, maybe if I explain the situation it will be more understandable.

I have 2 buildings (B), each building has 3 levels (L), the Isles are A,B,C etc; a great number of shelves (S), each with a similar number of Rows and Columns on said shelves.

I need to print labels for each row and column with the corresponding Building number, aisle shelf, etc. along with a QR code that can be scanned that gives the location.

I was trying to figure out a way to start with the base numbers and then increment them out instead of having to type them one by one.

For instance in B3 I need to increment the levels1-3 and for each level increment isles, shelves, rows and columns.

Upvote 0
Anyone have any ideas? Is this even possible in Excel? Maybe this is better suited for some Python code into Excel?

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
taner zz

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.