Is there a way to go to a thread using only its unique name?

I work in Software development, and what you are describing would not qualify as a "bug", but would be an "enhancement" request.
A "bug" is defined as something that is returning an error, or not returning the expected results, i.e. some feature is not working as it was originally intended.
If a product does not have some "feature" you desire, that is not a bug (I would love for my car to fly, but the fact that it does not is not a bug).

With any enhancement request, the questions that are typically asked before proceeding with it are:
1. How much of a demand is there for it?
2. How critical is it?
3. How much will it cost?

I am a retired software developer. I worded for a major software company for close to 30 years as a software developer, a first line development manager, and as a second line development manager with over 50 employees in 4 departments. In that company, if a product did not include a basic capability such as the search facility not being able to find an object from one of its key attributes, it would have been characterized as a bug -- a design bug or an implementation bug -- but absolutely a bug. In addition to your list of questions, we would also ask ourselves if the feature in question should logically be part of the design.

Apparently where you work, the standards are considerably less demanding.

Any good owner/manager simply does not take every request and act on it immediately without any thought first. They have to ask themselves the previous questions and discern whether it is a prudent decision (or not) to make such an enhancement request.

Note that when legitimate "bugs" are found, we do report them to Xenforo.