License information for this component not found (error)

kweaver

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
I've been using 365 and macros for AGES. All of a sudden just a few minutes ago, I don't seem to have access to VBA and the macros.
I get an error box saying: "License information for this component not found. You do not have an appropriate license to use this functionality in the design environment."

WHAT?

What did I do or do I do now?

TIA

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
Was there a Windows update a few minutes ago ?
Try to find a phone number for Microsoft support and I might as well pretended I'm a dentist and start pulling teeth.
This is just crazy that access to macros just stopped working.

Upvote 0
Yes, macros are active. In fact, I was working on a specific function, stopped for a phone call, and then the disaster happened...When I open the VBA editor, the code screen is BLANK.
I get the error when trying to run the macro that worked 15 minutes earlier. I also tried to run this on my laptop and have the same error. So, I gather it's tied to Excel in general and either my desktop nor my laptop.

Upvote 0
If you open a brand new sheet, do you have the same problems there?
If not, then it sounds like that one particular workbook may have become corrupted.

Upvote 0
Solution
Joe4: I believe that is the issue. Somehow this workbook became corrupted. I have another copy and the macro info opens just fine. SIGH.

Upvote 0
Yeah, usually if macros work fine in other workbooks, that is a good sign workbook corruption may be the issue.

Good thing you have another copy!

Upvote 0
Yes, from personal experience I've found always having a daily backup makes all the difference. Glad you have your answer.

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
SCleaveland

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.