NotePad to Excel without delimitator??

Mikeg262

Hey All,

I have a data set that is about 5k lines (in Notepad), it is in the format (shown below) where each row contains the line of data I want to put into 4 or 5 columns. The data does not have a delimitator (as I understand it anyway; I am not a pro at this). I have tried importing it with different delimitator settings, copying the data into a single column in Excel and using different combos of OFFSET. ROW and COLUMN, even considered using IFs, ANDs and such, but that became complicated quickly. I tried using the Query function in excel, but never used it before and wasn't sure what I was doing, but I thought if I could transpose each line to a column I could write a pretty simple formula to combine the similar columns, but it would not separate the data neatly. of course searched the web and forums for solutions but did not find any good ones. All of this did not solve the issues obviously. My final thought was to type a delimitator like ";" after each line, but I don't know if that'll work and it will take hours. So I would be happy to have a little insight.

Data format in Notepad:
(Line 1) From: XXXXXXXXXX
(Line 2) Timestamp: mm/dd/yyyy hr:mm:sc PM(UTC+0)
(Line 3) Source App: Nameof App
(Line 4) Body:
(Line 5) XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
(Line 6) -------------------------------------
(Line 7) From: XXXXXXXXXX
(Line 8) Timestamp: mm/dd/yyyy hr:mm:sc PM(UTC+0)
(Line 9) Source App: Nameof App
(Line 10) Body:
(Line 11) XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
(Line 12) -------------------------------------

This then repeats with for the rest of the document. Each entry is separated by --------
The line numbers are not part of the document and the XXXXX and names vary in length, but are all contained to one line.
The body and message are two separate lines, if they end up as separate columns I can easily fix that later.
I don't care about making the dashes into columns, but I can easily delete that later.