Paste to the end of selected column

Dtmq

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hey everyone!
I'm new to VBA and have been attempting to achieve the following:

1. Message prompt let's the user select a cell from the column that is to be copied. Based on that cell, the entire column is copied.
2. The user then selects a cell from the column to which the copied column should be pasted. Here I don't want to overwrite any preexisting data and instead want the copied column to be pasted to the end of this column.

The code looks like this:

VBA Code:
Sub test2()
Set ws1 = Sheets("Test Sheet 1")
Set ws2 = Sheets("Test Sheet 2")

Dim rng As Range
  On Error Resume Next
  Set rng = Application.InputBox(Prompt:="Select a cell from the column that is to be copied .", Title:="Select Column", Type:=8)
  On Error GoTo 0
  If rng Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

Dim rng2 As Range
  On Error Resume Next
  Set rng2 = Application.InputBox(Prompt:="Select a cell from the column in which the data should be pasted", Title:="Select column", Type:=8)
  Columns(rng.Column).Copy
[COLOR=rgb(251, 160, 38)]  ws2.Range(rng2.Columns & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0).PasteSpecial xlPasteValues[/COLOR]
  Application.CutCopyMode = False

End Sub

I highlighted the line of code that I'm not getting to work as planned (in this current version, nothing is pasted). Any ideas? Help would be very much appreciated.

Excel Facts

Workdays for a market open Mon, Wed, Friday?
Yes! Use "0101011" for the weekend argument in NETWORKDAYS.INTL or WORKDAY.INTL. The 7 digits start on Monday. 1 means it is a weekend.
There are a number of issues with your code.
  1. You can't copy a "whole" column to any position other that row 1 or it won't fit
    So you need to just select down the rows being used before copying.
  2. Your On error resume next is masking errors
  3. If you are copying between sheets you need to be referencing the sheets in the code.
See if the below helps:
VBA Code:
Sub test2()