PowerBI expand to new rows for fields with multiple entries causing problems with summing number fields

Tashat

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all

I'm VERY new to PowerBI, but have been working in Excel for forever, so have some knowledge on logic etc. I should say that I would rather have a CRM or database for what I'm doing, but I can't and it's a very long, frustrating, corporate story - we are where we are!

I have datasets I've imported to PowerBI desktop which I want to analyse, interrogate etc. from three online SharePoint lists:
  1. Organisation list (listing all organisations we work with and info about them)
  2. Phonebook list (with individual contacts working at the organisations - I have a lookup field allowing my users to select which organisation an individual works for - which pulls from the previous list)
  3. Activity list (every time we email or have contact with someone / and organisation we record the activity here. There are lookup fields to both of the previous lists
In addition to the above, there are a number of fields (including the lookup fields) where the user can select multiple options. e.g. multiple contacts from the phonebook could be involved in a single activity in the activity list. Similar with the organisations.

I have therefore imported my data and transformed the data to expand to new rows for each of these instances where the user could have made multiple selections. I need to do this, because I want to create tables and charts etc which allow me to group info together - e.g. look at all the data for a single organisation. However, I also have some fields which require the user to enter numbers. Now of course, when I've expanded the rows, it has repeated all these numbers down the full list. When I come to Sum these numbers, the resulting value is incorrect because of duplicate counting.