PowerPivot model: Duplicate rows adding up to over inflated total.

HarryR1

Hi all
I am new to PowerPivot and data models, and I am querying an SSAS cube in a PowerPivot data model. I have a problem with duplicate names inflating figures. The duplicates come from a Project Server SSAS cube.
RowProject NameCost
11004 - Parent Project£500
21004 - Sub Project£200
31004 - Sub Project with same name as Parent Project£300

<tbody>
</tbody>
Rows 2 and 3 are both sub projects that make up the whole project that is totalled up in row 1. However, when looking a the results in PowerPivot, the model is adding all these three rows separately, producing a total figure of £1000.
How can I get the model to a)recognise the hierarchy from Project Server. it does if querying the cube directly in excel into a pivot chart but not in a PowerPivot model.
Is there a DAX or MDX calculation I can use to only select or count the highest figure of any duplicates rows with the same name?
I understand it's a pretty complex question but hoping someone can help.
Thanks in advance.
Harry

More or less, though I would actually expect:
=SUM(CostsTable[cost], CostsTable[IsThemax] = TRUE())

Right... your total cost is the sum of all costs... where Max is true. That is what that measure says.

I should have a window from 1pm to 4pm PST today... and in the spirit of the holidays wouldn't mind jumping on a shared screen consult for a half hour to get you jump started. Reach out via email to scott [at] tinylizard.com if you want to do that and see this in time :)

Hi Scottsen

Apologies for not replying sooner. I have had a winter cold the last few days which took me out of action. I will give the above a try and see if I can make some progress.

Thanks for all your help so far, it's super appreciated.:)

Harry

Upvote 0

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.