problems with the VBA book

smokenack

I have recently purchased the VBA and MACROS for microsoft excel book. Would it be appropriate to post any problems that I encounter here? I am an absolute beginner and am sure that some of my queries will appear foolish but I can handle the ridicule.
e.g

the following code on page 66 only works for the first zero in the list, not as suggested for all zeros encountered

Set Rng = Range("B1:B16").Find(What:=0, LookAt:=xlWhole, LookIn:=xlValues)
Rng.Offset(, 1).Value = "LOW"

thanks

Nick

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Nick

You shoukd post in the main Excel forum.

What are you actually trying to do with the code?

Do you actually need code? Could you not use the IF worksheet function?

I'm not actually using the code for anything, just working my way through the book, trying out the code as I go and seeing if I understand. In this case yes I would normally use the IF function.

Nick

Hi Nick,

A couple of quick comments:

1. The text to which you refer on p66 of the book says "Find any total equal to zero and place LOW in the cell next to it."

I read this as meaning find the first cell containing zero, but on a further reading I can see how you may have interpreted it in the way that you have. Rest assured, you are not doing anything wrong - that code will only detect the first cell satisfying the Find criteria.

2. The page that you quote is using the code as an example of the use of Offset. If you are interested in the idea of finding all of the zeroes using Find then have a look at FindNext in the VBE Help files - there is an example there.

I think queries relating specifically to the book are fine posted here. For general Excel and/or VBA queries use the main Excel forum, as Norie suggests.

HTH

Thanks Ritchie. I'm going to have to nag the IT dept to install the help files.

Nick