Separate data and text from one cell to provide a duration with a summary

danielphildp

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello, There.
I am trying to solve a problem with our current data collection at my office. As of now every Friday the entire team use a shared excel sheet to update their assigned project about the next activities with a date and a small description. For example " 11/17/23 Awaiting proposal approval; 11/10/23 project cost review; 11/03/23 contract proposal due on Monday...........etc." So the project history is in one cell showing as I mentioned.

I am trying to get a monthly data table showing a monthly duration (start and finish) with all notes associate with it for that month (and so on for each month). I have attached a snip how our data looks like and what I would like to accomplish, I am new to excel world and I am not as smart as anyone in this group. I would really appreciate if you could help, guide, or explain to me how we can accomplish this.

1700192350849.png

I have tried to Delimiters by semicolon, but I can't group weekly dates to months and separate texts to group.

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
That's alot of information in one cell to try and break down. Is it possible to break this down into two sheets: the first is the data entry whilst the second is the "report" which will show the data however you want it. There is a way to break down the cell, but there's too much here to formulise what goes into which cell, hence the data entry side.

Upvote 0
My other question is: for each "Activity Step" what is the maximum number of steps in each that there would be? For example for teh green you've got several, as well as teh black, 4 for the blue and 5 for the red. Would it be 10? or 20? and which excel version are you using?

Upvote 0