Spreadsheet Modelling Application Practice

n_mayo

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi!

I'm new to excel and am struggling to figure out how to do this question. I would like to seek some advice and direction on how to approach this:

Your annual income is now $32000, and this is expected to increase at about 3% per year. Your bank balance is zero and the plan is to start growing it by saving 10% of your income. Bank interest is now 1% per annum, after 5 years you should have enough money and knowledge to want to invest your money into bonds and stocks, to get return rates of at least 3.5%. Construct a spreadsheet model of your savings for the next 20 years. What if your income grows at 2% and savings at 8% of income?

So far I have come up with a table consisting of all the information but am also not too sure if the calculation for interest and returns are based on savings?

Hopefully someone can share some advice! :)

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
Please share what you have up to this point. Use XL2BB to upload your sample data.

Upvote 0
I'm [...] struggling to figure out how to do this question. I would like to seek some advice and direction on how to approach this:
[....]
[...] not too sure if the calculation for interest and returns are based on savings?

Since this is obviously an assignment of some sort, it would be unethical for us to provide turnkey solutions. And you are wise to only ask for "advice". So no more details are necessary, IMHO.

To answer your question (``not too sure if the calculation for interest and returns are based on savings?``), the interest rate applies to bank savings, which grows by ``10% of your income`` each year. And your income grows by ``3% per year``.

That is true for at least the first 5 years.