VBA - Error when using Cstr on Variant

jaspalsd

Board Regular
Hi,

I am needing to use a variant to find a range of where my keyword is found on multiple rows so I can copy data to another source but when I run the code I have a run time error 1004. The code worked fine when I had defined integers with set values.

I am not an expert in VBA, merely manipulating code I've found on forums to make it relevant for my purposes.

VBA Code:
Sub Macro1()

Worksheets("Receivables").Activate 'worksheet name

Dim FSearchRow As Variant 'first row of keyword search
Dim LSearchRow As Variant 'last row of keyword search

FSearchRow = "=MATCH(A2,A:A, 0)"  'A2 is for test purposes as I will ref another worksheet for unique ids
LSearchRow = "=(MATCH(A2,A:A,0)+(COUNTIF(A:A,A2))-1)"

Dim rng As Range

Set rng = Range("B" & CStr(FSearchRow) & ":" & "B" & CStr(LSearchRow)) 'range will change on variable first and last rows where this part is getting errors

rng.Copy Range("L1:L30") 'test purposes as I will copy to another worksheet

End Sub

Thanks,

Jas

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
Hi,

I am needing to use a variant to find a range of where my keyword is found on multiple rows so I can copy data to another source but when I run the code I have a run time error 1004. The code worked fine when I had defined integers with set values.

I am not an expert in VBA, merely manipulating code I've found on forums to make it relevant for my purposes.

VBA Code:
Sub Macro1()

Worksheets("Receivables").Activate 'worksheet name

Dim FSearchRow As Variant 'first row of keyword search
Dim LSearchRow As Variant 'last row of keyword search

FSearchRow = "=MATCH(A2,A:A, 0)"  'A2 is for test purposes as I will ref another worksheet for unique ids
LSearchRow = "=(MATCH(A2,A:A,0)+(COUNTIF(A:A,A2))-1)"

Dim rng As Range