VBA help: how to set dynamic next available row

Lil Stinker

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm new to VBA so please forgive me if this is something completely basic. I currently have a worksheet set up where I want to add notes to the sheet via a userform entry. The notes are entered to the sheet row after row, one note/row at a time. What I am trying to have it do is enter the first note in B2, then B3, then B4, so on and so on until it reaches B10. At that point, I want it to redirect to the next open column and start at K2, K3, etc. down to K10. Then if K10 is not empty, change the next available row to B20, down to B30. Once B30 is filled, change again back to K20.

The reason for this is the worksheet is designed a certain way. Row B1 has a header that is Centered Across Selection. Rows A11 through A18 also have other fields that shouldn't be overwritten while B19 has another header Centered Across Selection.

I know how to the get the last row available with the code noteROW = Sheet1.Range("B11").End(xlUp).Row + 1 however, when I change noteROW to equal Sheet1.Range("K11").End(xlUp).Row + 1, it doesn't recognize the header in B1:S1 and places the note in K1 instead of K2. And for reasons unknown to me, when K10 is not empty and I change noteROW to Sheet1.Range("B31").End(xlUp).Row + 1, the notes don't even show up.

Here is the code I've tried working with:
VBA Code:
Private Sub formsaveBTTN_Click()
   Dim noteROW As Long

If scanBOX.Value <> "" And notesBOX.Value <> "" Then
      With RTNreceipt
         noteROW = .Range("B11").End(xlUp).Row + 1 'first avail row
         .Range("B" & noteROW).Value = scanBOX.Value & " - " & notesBOX.Value 'insert barcode and equip notes
         If .Range("B10").Value <> Empty Then
            noteROW = .Range("K11").End(xlUp).Row + 1 'first avail row in next column
            .Range("K" & noteROW).Value = scanBOX.Value & " - " & notesBOX.Value 'insert barcode and equip notes
         End If