Capturing date and time stamp on when data is entered in a cell

seethanaboina

Hi Hiker, I am new to using macros and I am trying to capture the date and time stamp of when data is entered into some cells. I was able to use an example found in one of the threads successfully. However, it worked on one row (say column A) and identified the date/time stamp as required in a different column (say I). How do I replicate this for another column (say B) to identify the date/time stamp in another column (J)? Please help me? The code I used is

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Intersect(Target, Range("A:A")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
If Target = "" Then
Target.Offset(, 8) = ""
Exit Sub
End If
With Application
.EnableEvents = False
.ScreenUpdating = False
Target.Offset(, 8) = Format(Date, "mmm dd yyyy")
.EnableEvents = True
.ScreenUpdating = True
End With

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
Change

to

If Intersect(Target, Range("b:b")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

Upvote 0
Simply change this row:
Code:
to
Code:
If Intersect(Target, Range("A:[B][COLOR=red]B[/COLOR][/B]")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

Upvote 0
Hi Joe4, Changing (A:A) to (A:B) worked. I am now able to get the date/time stamp for any changes in Columns A and B in columns I and J. Thank you. How do I go about capturing the date and time stamps if the cells are not consecutive (meaning, the cells where the values change are say A, C, E) and I am ok if the date and time stamps are captured in columns which are consecutive (say I,J,K). Please help.

Thank you

Upvote 0
So we don't get caught in a game of Catch-22 (i.e. every time we provide an answer, the question changes), can you just lay it all for us up front?
That is, can you tell us the full extent of exactly what it is you are trying to do (instead of going bit-by-bit)?

Thanks

Upvote 0