Trying to build code to automatically, triggered by plc data.

brmcbride

I have a spreadsheet set up in testing right now that has a macro to send the current sheet in an email. The macro works perfectly. What I am trying to figure out is how to automatically run this macro. I have a dde connection setup to a plc. The code I'm attempting to use is-

Option Explicit

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

Select Case Target.Address

Case "$A$2"

Call Mail_ActiveSheet

Case Else

End Select

End Sub

In Cell A1 I have =RSLINX|Print!'F8:0' (its a 0 or 1). Initially I was trying to watch this data in cell A1 to run the macro. I'm a beginner with VBA... It will not work to watch A1, I'm assuming because =RSLINX|Print!'F8:0' isn't actually changing. My last attempt was to copy cell A1 with =VALUE(A1) to A2 and have the worksheet_change watch cell A2. This is where I'm stuck. All of the code executes if I manually change the value in A2 by typing it. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.
Hi,
This may be good news or bad news, I'll let you decide.
What you're doing should work fine, (considering your code executes manually the way you want), but you'll want to use the Worksheet_Calculate event for that instead of the Worksheet_Change. You're right in your perception that cell A1 is not actually changing (even if the plc output does). The formula there isn't changing, only the result is.
The downside to using the ws_calculate event is that it executes every time the sheet calculates anything, and while you can test for the desired output in A1 before sending the email, if you have any other formulas on that sheet, the code will run every time any of them have to calculate which may not be desireable. (if you have a lot.)

Does that help?

Upvote 0