Alt-F11 to open VBE has stopped working!

Jolly Green Giant

Hi everyone.

I'm a newly registered member. Hope someone 'out there' can help me with this oddball problem....

I've been using VBE to build on recorded macros for many a year now. All self taught, learning more all the time. I'm a bit of a keyboard freak (ie keep my hands off the mouse as much as poss, for speed) and 'suddenly' my Alt-F11 keyboard shortcut, to open up the VBE, has stopped working!

I can't correlate this with any particular event (loading new software, installing add-in, customising toolbars, applying shortcut keys to macros, or anything else that I might suspect was a cause...).

Alt-key still works fine on its own, eg to access menus. F11-key still works fine on its own (creates chart). Other Alt-Function Key combinations still work (eg Alt-F8 to show Macro dialog box).

I can't find anyplace where a user can switch shortcut keys on or off or customise them.

I'm stumped!! Just hope someone out there can help as this is a big annoyance for me (considering it's such a small, incidental problem.)

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Hi JGG,

Welcome to the forum :biggrin:

Keystrokes can be 'interfered with' via VBA using the OnKey method. It may be that a workbook / add-in disabled access in this way and didn't restore it on closing (possibly trying to prevent you looking at the code).

Can you still access the VBE via the Tools menu?

Upvote 0
Thanks for the ideas, Richie.

Any clue on how I'd go about tracking such a culprit down?

I've tried unchecking the an Add-In or two from the Add-Ins dialog box (I seem to remember loading the Analysis Tools VBA recently for some reason) but I'm not sure if just closing and restarting Excel will register that change.