Best Way To Learn Access

N1ka18

Hi, I am new to access, Can anyone Tell what is the best way to study access. I have found many books online, but it hard to make a choice. My current position is of an analyst, and I really require knowledge of databases, as well as having the ability to make a good report. If anyone knows some kind of video lesson it would be even better. Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Hi,

I think it is best to first read a book on "Database Design". From this you learn the fundamentals of database theory and design - data types, table structure, relationships, keys, indexes, data types, and query design. Then you can learn "Access" specific topics such as how to create forms and reports and how to use Access most effectively.

So books that seem good to me in database design are:
Database Design for Mere Mortals By Michael Hernandez
SQL Queries For Mere Mortals By Michael Hernandez
Relational Database Design Clearly Explained by Jan Harrington (oldie but good - straightforward)
Learning SQL by Alan Beaulieu (one of many good books aimed specifically at SQL)

Or try to find anything that looks like a college textbook for a class on database theory and design.

Access specific (these two books will tell you just about everything you really need to know, but I suppose I am out of date as there are new features in Access 2010 and 2013 that won't be covered):
Microsoft Office Access 2007 Forms, Reports, and Queries by Paul McFedries
Automating Microsoft Access with VBA by Mike Gunderloy and Susan Harkins