Aldo3/17/20141/21/2018No
Ibrahim1/21/20171/7/2018No
Luis8/2/20179/3/2017No
Issaha9/28/201611/20/2016No
John2/1/20179/5/2017Yes
Arton5/17/2017Num

<tbody>
</tbody>

Hope someone can point me in the right direction. I'm a relative novice with excel but I'm better than the next guy at work so I've been given the simple task of creating a list of employees hired in 2017 that were employed with the firm for more than 90 days and would qualify for certain benefits. Above is a small list taken from a much larger sheet. I've inserted the formula:
IF(AND(ISNUMBER(C2),B2>=DATE(2017,1,1),DATEDIF(EOMONTH(B2,0)+1,C2,"d")>90),"Yes","No")

<tbody>
</tbody>

under the "Qualify" column, it works except when the employee does not have a separation date since they're still employeed with the firm, my formula kicks out a #NUM message. And advice?

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
This is what I'd call a workaround.

=IFERROR(IF(AND(ISNUMBER(C2),B2>=DATE(2017,1,1),DATEDIF(EOMONTH(B2,0)+1,C2,"d")>90),"Yes","No")"),"No")

If an error is produced return "No"

From a programming point of view I prefer this

=IF(C2>0,IF(AND(B2>=DATE(2017,1,1),DATEDIF(EOMONTH(B2,0)+1,C2,"d")>90),"Yes","No"),"No")

Last edited:
Upvote 0
NameHire DateSeparation DateQualify
Agustin7/16/2014Num
Aldo3/17/20141/21/2018No
Ibrahim1/21/20171/7/2018No
Luis8/2/20179/3/2017No
Issaha9/28/201611/20/2016No
John2/1/20179/5/2017Yes
Arton5/17/2017Num

<tbody>
</tbody>

Hope someone can point me in the right direction. I'm a relative novice with excel but I'm better than the next guy at work so I've been given the simple task of creating a list of employees hired in 2017 that were employed with the firm for more than 90 days and would qualify for certain benefits. Above is a small list taken from a much larger sheet. I've inserted the formula: