Drop Down Lists

WagnerE

Hi there,

This is my first time posting and really have little in-depth experience with excel. With that said, I am tasked with creating a spreadsheet for calculating some estimate numbers at my work. So here is my dilemma.

I have a cell in A1 that is a drop down list. Based upon what you pick, cells B1 through B16 populate with either text or are left blank. What I am having trouble with is that cells C1 through C16 need to have a drop down list in them, but only if there is text in the corresponding B cell. So if B10 has text, C10 will now have a drop down list of values available, but if B10 is blank, I need cell C10 to be blank as well.

I have scoured through the internet and many forums, but all I have been able to find are drop down list dependent upon drop down lists, and that doesn't seem to cover the reverting back to blank status.

Thanks for you help.

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
I would use named ranges and use those to select your lists.

If you want the list dependent on the results of the above cell then use an if statement in the data validation box.

Select data validation
select list

in the text box type something like

=IF(b10="","",[your named range here])

Upvote 0
RCBricker,