# of events vs Day of week. Compare 2 columns, then copy # events cell

thankyou

Board Regular
Hi. I have 2 columns: B & D.
B has # events. D has day of the week expressed as a value (2-7 from Mon-Sat respectively).

I'd like to copy the values in B over to J20 thru O20 (J-O represent M-Sat as you probably expect) IF they have the same column D value (day #). Conceptually, it's just copy over each day's data into easier-to-read columns beginning J20-O20, so that I can more easily run some simple analytics. This is probably a common question, but I'm still learning so appreciate it that much more. Thanks for stopping by to help.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
I'm not sure I understand why the copying is happening in row 20 (J20:O20), rather than every row. I'm also not sure that doing analytics is easier with weekdays broken out into separate column, as opposed to having a single Day # column. That said, here is a fairly simple formula that would distribute the Event # to J:O, which you can copy and paste across that range. Then you can copy/paste values if you feel so inclined. Note, some columns are hidden to adhere to your cell addressing but save space in the post.

BDJKLMNO
1Event #Day #MonTueWedThuFriSat

<tbody>
</tbody>

Formeln der Tabelle
ZelleFormel
J2=IF(COLUMN()-10+2=$D2, $B2, "")

<tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody>
</tbody>

The -10 is subtracting J's column number, and the +2 is adding back the first day's number (Monday=2).

Does this help?

Upvote 0