read-only data entry form, not sure why

miconian

I set up this simple query, and then clicked the 'split form' button to turn it into a form.

It works great, except that I can't edit current records, and can't add new records. I'm not sure why. I must be missing something obvious, but I'm relatively new to forms.

Thanks for your help. Here's the query on which the form is based.

SELECT Campaigns.*, [Order Lines].[Order Line], [Order Lines].[Product ID], [Order Lines].[Billing Method], [Order Lines].[Start Date], [Order Lines].[End Date], [Campaigns-Reps].[Sales Rep]
FROM (Campaigns INNER JOIN [Campaigns-Reps] ON Campaigns.[Campaign ID] = [Campaigns-Reps].[Campaign ID]) INNER JOIN [Order Lines] ON Campaigns.[Campaign ID] = [Order Lines].[Campaign ID];

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
Update: I sort of fixed the problem, but not in an adequate way.

I removed the [Campaigns-Reps] table from the equation, so now the query is:

SELECT Campaigns.*, [Order Lines].[Order Line], [Order Lines].[Product ID], [Order Lines].[Billing Method], [Order Lines].[Start Date], [Order Lines].[End Date]
FROM Campaigns INNER JOIN [Order Lines] ON Campaigns.[Campaign ID] = [Order Lines].[Campaign ID];

So now the form allows me to edit and add records...

BUT! I want the Campaigns-Reps table to be part of the form. Each campaign can have one or more reps. The user should be able to add them using the same form. How do I get there from here?

Upvote 0
This seems hard to answer without knowing your table structure/design. It feels somehow not right to me, but that's very subjective. What is it that you are doing here - what's this data about?

Upvote 0
Thanks for your interest, xenou. I was actually just trying to figure out how to add a third subform with a datasheet view. The ready-made split form setup wasn't allowing me to do it the way I wanted.