Scan in Word using excel?

ikuzai

I am not sure of this is possible or not, but is there a way to run a macro in EXCEL that scans WORD documents for certain characteristics and list them back in EXCEL? I am curious if it is feasible and if it is, if someone can point me in the right direction on where to begin creating something like this.

This is essentially what I want to do.

I am a report writer and we spell out acronyms in parenthesis for the first time something is used in a document and then abbreviate it the rest of the report. The issue I have is that during final reports, a lot of the information is a compilation of multiple smaller reports where there are duplicate acronyms (in parenthesis). I want it to essentially scan the document and list all the words in parenthesis except for the first time it was used. Hope that makes sense.

Example:

Johnny goes to the National Football League (NFL) Game. <-- First time used in report, which is ok.

Johnny went to the NFL game last night <-- This is fine

Johnny plays in the National Football League (NFL) game on the a team. <-- The word "(NFL)" would be listed in excel and it has already been used in since it is an acronym in parenthesis and used in the first sentence. This would allow me to go back through and manually delete it National Football League.

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
See: https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/gener...s-acronym-meaning-extraction.html#post4751117