the same drop down boxes

lofty2474

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, I am brand new to access, can I have the same drop down boxes in the data sheet and the form so that I can enter data either way?

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
To put it simply, users should not enter data directly into tables - only via forms. The direct answer is yes, but it requires that you use lookup fields, which is something else you really should not do.

Upvote 0
Solution
To put it simply, users should not enter data directly into tables - only via forms. The direct answer is yes, but it requires that you use lookup fields, which is something else you really should not do.
Thank you for your reply. Entering data direct to the table would only be done by myself on a second sweep as my workflow requires that I see the data in that format. As I said I am new to this and am trying to find solutions to a quite specific work flow. The form works perfectly for the first data entered but I then have to draw data from a further 2 sources and the table format works better for this. Any suggestions ?

Upvote 0
Can you tell us about the work flow? Include some info re who, what, when, how much and how often to help put it all into context. The 30,000 ft level is fine for starters.

As micron advised-- best not to add/edit info directly in Tables.

Upvote 0