A bit stuck with conditional formatting based on figure in cell above

SeanWRX

Hi all,

I'm a newbie so please go easy! I've tried to find whether this has been asked before, but while I find similar queries, I'm unable to find something that answers my particular predicament. I nearly got there with conditional formatting and format only based on an average, but it still isn't quite how I want it.

I have monthly data showing the quantities of computers at my clients sites. I need to reflect the data with the fluctiations being highlighted by colour. My data looks like this:

Birmingham
Jan 500
Feb 550
Mar 450
Apr 300
May 700
Jun 800

I need each cell to "react" to the one above it by turning a certain colour based on drop or rise in quantity compared to the previous month. In my situation increases are bad, so I want those cells to turn red, and decreases should be blue.

So in the above example, with my intended colours in brackets:

Birmingham
Jan 500 (first month so no colour)
Feb 550 (red as this figure is an increase on the Jan figure)
Mar 450 (blue as this figure is a decrease on the Feb figure)
Apr 300 (blue as this figure is a decrease on the Mar figure)
May 700 (red as this figure is an increase on the Apr figure)
Jun 800 (red as this figure is an increase on the May figure)

I have lots of customer sites to report on and the quantities can fluctuate wildly (I used dummy figures here, obviously) so I'd love something to automatically handle this formatting for me so I don't have to manually colour-code them each time.

Is what I need possible, and if so how?

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Welcome to Mr Excel

Maybe this

Assuming your data begin in row 2, select B2:Bn, i.e.,till the end of your data, being b2 the active cell (the one not shaded)

Home > Conditional Formatting > New Rule > Use a formula ...
insert this formula