A Macro For Continuous Screen Scrolling?

minion

Mr. Excel,

I have a large list of dart tournament contestant names displaying the opponents and the board the match will be played upon. If I zoom the entire list on the monitor, people can't read the small text. Is there a formula or a macro that will slowly scroll down the list? Ultimately, I would like to press a button and have the screen slowly scroll down to the bottom of the list and then scroll back up to the top of the worksheet continuously until I press the button again. Can the scroll speed be varied? I have skimmed through several VBA reference manuals and this issue is not addressed.

An example of the continuous scrolling would be pressing down on a mouse with a wheel.

Thanks for your time!

minion

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
This code did the job, but you can probably do better. I am still new at this.

Sub SlowScroll()
For i = 1 To 30
r = 1
Do Until r = 5000
Cells(r, 30) = r
r = r + 1
Loop
ActiveWindow.SmallScroll Down:=1
Next i
Range("A1").Select
SlowScroll
End Sub

Upvote 0
You can adjust the sleep time if needed to speed or slow scroll. Put this in a Module. Of course the mouse wheel method is more smooth.

Code:
Declare Sub Sleep Lib "kernel32" (ByVal dwMilliseconds As Long)

Public inc As Integer

Sub ScrollNow()
  Dim lastRow As Long, nextRow As Long
  Application.ScreenUpdating = True

lastRow = ActiveSheet.UsedRange.Rows.Count
  If inc <> 1 Or inc <> -1 Then
    If ActiveCell.Row = lastRow Then
      inc = -1
      Else: inc = 1
    End If
  End If

On Error GoTo handleCancel
  Application.EnableCancelKey = xlErrorHandler

Application.StatusBar = "To End: ESC, Ctrl+Break"
  Do While 1 = 1 'infinite loop
    If inc = 1 And lastRow = ActiveCell.Row Then inc = -1
    If inc = -1 And ActiveCell.Row = 1 Then inc = 1
    nextRow = ActiveCell.Row + inc
    Application.Goto Range("A" & nextRow), True