Analyze and store construction data

Construction_Mng

Hello,

I am new to this forum and am looking for a little bit of help with creating a macro.

I work in the construction industry and need to keep accurate records of the activities completed by my crew and how many hours it took them to complete each activity. I must do this on a daily basis and it can be very time consuming when done manually. I need to refine the process and make it as simple as possible.

The information is usually submitted to me on a hand written report and is laid out as follows:

A B C D E F G H I J
1 Date Task 1 Task 1 Task 1 Task 2 Task 2 Task 2 Task 3 Task 3 Task 3 and so on....
2 Employee Name RT OT RT RT OT RT RT OT RT
3 Employee 1 4 4 2
4 Employee 2 3 5 2
5 Employee 3 6 4
and so on...

RT=Regular Time
OT=Overtime Time
DT=Double Time
Task # = (This is usually a numerical code - "cost codes")

I then insert the information into an excel file (laid out the same way as the above) and send it to accounting/payroll for processing.

What I would like to do is create a macro that would store all of this data into a separate worksheet, keeping a running total of all the hours spent on each task, by employee and by date.

The database would be laid out as follows:

A B C D E F
Date Employee Number/Name Task (Cost Code) Regular Time Hours Over time Hours Double time Hours

** Note I would also be adding other columns such as hourly wage, total daily cost, etc.

I would like the macro to count how many combinations of employee/tasks there is for the day and insert that number of rows to the database. For the example I provided, the macro should insert 7 records to the database (2 records for employee 1, 3 records for employee 2, 2 records for employee 3).

Note that the # of tasks could vary from day to day, and the same goes for the number of employees.