Analyzing Purchasing Behavior of Customers Who Purchased a Particular Product

Anders_S

I'm a newbie to PowerPivot, and I'm stumped on how to do something. I'm trying to analyze the purchasing behavior of customers who purchased a particular product. I'm pulling the data from our Microsoft data warehouse (SQL Server 2008 R2), and in PowerPivot (latest version, 32-bit) the data looks something like this:
customer_ID
product_code
product_name
type
date
revenue
web382
Understanding aphasia
webinar
1/5/2012
web100
Pediatric care
webinar
2/12/2013
web074
Hearing aid reviews
webinar
8/6/2011

<tbody>
</tbody>

1) I'd like to add a column to each row that would let me know whether the customer had purchased web382. How do I do that?

2) Right now I'm pulling down all 3.8 million rows of our sales data from our Sales cube. I'd like to filter the data when I'm importing it so I only get the rows I need: all products purchased by a customer who has purchased web382. I can do simple filters – all rows that contain the product_code web382 – but I can't figure out how to do this. Is it possible without learning MDX?

Also, I feel like I'm not grokking PowerPivot. I've got a pretty good background as a programmer and I'm fluent with regular pivot tables, but I keep getting stumped. Is there a concept I'm missing that would help me understand how to do #1?

Thanks!
Anders Schneiderman
American Speech Language Hearing Association

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Anders,

You can add a calculated column that establishes whether that customer has ever bought web382 using:

Code:
=if(COUNTROWS(FILTER(Table1,[product_code]="web382"&&[customer_ID]=EARLIER([customer_ID])))>0,"Bought Web 382",blank())