Automatic Date - No VBA

rook114

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
4
Is there a way to modify the date in which a range of cells was updated without adding any code to it?

I will have multiple ranges with individual dates on the same sheet, making the NOW function not possible.

Thanks for your help.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.

chrysti

Board Regular
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
215
can you use the:
=TODAY()
that will give you today's date everytime you open
 

rook114

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
4
Right, but I need there to be different dates as certain users will update the sheet on different dates.

The function is to show when the user has last changed something in their range of cells, not necessarily when they opened it.
 

HalfAce

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 6, 2003
Messages
9,454
Hello rook114, welcome to the board.
I don't think (off hand anyway) you'll be able to do this without the use of some vba.
Is that not an option at all? - or would some vba that executes automatically (without
having to be initiated by the user) be acceptable?
 

rook114

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
4

ADVERTISEMENT

I had code in the sheet that performed what I wanted it to do, however with different users, the update worked on some, but not others. I can only suspect this is due to security settings. I don't know what else could have caused it.

Your thoughts are appreciated.
 

HalfAce

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 6, 2003
Messages
9,454
So... you have the code you need and the issue is just to 'force' the user(s) to have
macros enabled on their machine(s)?

If that's the case there are a number of threads that deal with that.
(Search for 'force AND macros AND enabled'.)
Here's a link to one that may help get you started.
http://www.mrexcel.com/board2/viewtopic.php?p=148963#148963

Hope it helps. Let us know if I'm misunderstanding what you meant.
 

rook114

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
4
I would like to be able to do the task of the code without any code. I would rather not force users to change their security settings or to have any VBA in the file at all.

I'm not sure that it's possible. Just a thought.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,518
Messages
5,596,622
Members
414,082
Latest member
sasmita

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top