Calculating averages when not in range and avoiding DIV/0

tommyturner

Hi

I am new to the power of Excel and am in need of some help! I have searched and read a number of similar problems but nothing quite matches or has worked for me, so I'm sorry if this a repetitive question!

I will set the scene. I have a sheet for each week of the year and each sheet has the days of the week in horizontal columns. Under each day there are a number of sub-columns with a different variable/category in each (10 in total). These variables are repeated every day.
So the first variable on Monday is the same first variable/category on Tuesday. They are therefore separated and not in continuous range.
All of the cells are blank until they will be filled with a number throughout the year. However in a number of cases, the cells will remain blank and won't be filled.

Therefore when calculating weekly averages for each category, the basic average formula returns DIV/0 which I want to avoid as I have yearly averages etc. Any other formulas I have tried say that there are too many arguements, presumably because the data is not continuous?

If someone could help me with a formula that will calculate an average from cells which are in some cases blank and not in continuous range, I would be extremely grateful!

Many thanks

Tom

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
Hi, welcome to the board.

I think the basic AVERAGE() function will only return a DIV/0 error if ALL the cells are empty. If a single one contains a value and all the others are blank, you won't get a DIV/0 error. Does this help you get round the problem ?

If not, a quick and dirty way is to do something like this -
Code:
=if(iserror(YOURAVERAGEFUNCTION),"",YOURAVERAGEFUNCTION)

Upvote 0
Hi