Can a user load information into a published dashboard?

RockandGrohl

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all.

I'm building an analytics dashboard but are basically a total novice at Power BI.

For sake of argument, let's say my Database is a list of supermarket food prices. Each row is a product that can be found in one or more supermarkets, like this:

SupermarketProductCost
AldiApple£1.00
AldiBanana£0.80
AldiCake£4.00
LidlCake£3.50
LidlPear£0.50
LidlApple£1.10

I then have a second database which is an summary of all products, and the min and max of each price, like so:

ProductMin PriceMax Price
Apple£1.00£1.10
Banana£0.80£0.80
Cake£3.50£4.00
Pear£0.50£0.50

This would be displayed on a line-graph, turned into a dumbbell or dot-plot chart, so you have the Min & the Max price on the Y axis, product on the X axis and then little error bars that connect them. This is the stage I'm at.

The users of this dashboard can then input a CSV of their shopping list which also has price quotations on it, and it would then filter the chart* to only show the range of products that are on the shopping list, and it puts the shopping list price quote on the dumbbell chart - this way, the user can look at the price quote and determine whether it's above, below, or within the price ranges that sit inside the database.

chart example.JPG

* Chart is currently unfiltered.

Is this possible, and is this a sensible way to do things? Would you use a different technique to allow users to compare quoted prices against a database of prices?

Thank you very much for your time!

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
As a bonus question, can I also display the number of data points from the main database on the line?