Can I initialize a uForm via Button, with several textboxes populated from the currently selected row?

aubullion

I have some coding experience, but never attempted anything like this in Office 2010.

Essentially I have an excel worksheet functioning as a database of service records. Nearly 10K rows/records, with 'Customer Name, Contact, Phone, Invoice #, Product ID, Model, Desc, Make, Lot#, Service Date, Pass/Fail' as the column headers (A to K).

Our current system involves entering the this data into a premade MSWord 2010 form for customer records and then copying the same data into the database worksheet. These steps don't always happen back to back, and that's when the database starts to fall behind / records never make it in / not functioning like it should.

To avoid this, I set about figuring out how to automatically generate the Customer Record form, from a record/row of the database, to force/reward users for entering it in the Excel DB first. This led me to this website and learning about the UserForms / VBA / etc. etc.

I have now generated the template for the userform I would like to be automatically populated, but I am stuck on a few things:

1) How do I call this form from the database worksheet? I am aware I could use a button, but with 10,000 rows of data, it wouldnt be convenient to hide it on the worksheet physically, is there a floating button option?

2) What would the actual code need to be so that when a row is selected, it grabs the values from the appropriate columns for that row (A : K), pass that data to the corresponding textboxes on the userform (literally name "txtA to recieve data from column A", txtB for column B data, etc.), and present the user with the "auto-filled" form.