Can I use MAX for quarters

Mauranda1

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Web
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to excel and looking for some help :)!

I currently am working on a project tracker with Quarters instead of actual dates i.e project one ends on Q4 2020.

I have grouped these projects into like for like groups and would like to find the project finishing the latest i.e Group 1:

Project 1 = Q4 2020

Project 2 = Q1 2021

Project3 = Q2 2021 - this one

I was going to use the MAX equation but it seems as though this only works for actual dates i.e 01/03/2021, does anyone know a workaround this?

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
Better to use proper dates, workarounds will be inefficient and unreliable at best.

Your quarter periods are text strings so will not work with any numeric functions. Workarounds for ordering text would incorrectly evaluate Q4 2020 as being the max of your example.

edit:- In my opinion a workaround is acceptance of a bad idea rather than a solution to the problem, this one appears to work but I would be reluctant to rely on it as being accurate.
Excel Formula:
=TEXT(AGGREGATE(14,6,--SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(A1:A3,"Q","1/")," ","/"),1),"Qm yyyy")

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Better to use proper dates, workarounds will be inefficient and unreliable at best.

Your quarter periods are text strings so will not work with any numeric functions. Workarounds for ordering text would incorrectly evaluate Q4 2020 as being the max of your example.

edit:- In my opinion a workaround is acceptance of a bad idea rather than a solution to the problem, this one appears to work but I would be reluctant to rely on it as being accurate.
Excel Formula:
=TEXT(AGGREGATE(14,6,--SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(A1:A3,"Q","1/")," ","/"),1),"Qm yyyy")
Great - yes the quarters format was at the request of my boss.