Changing ListBox population with VBA

Zerb

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
If I have a ListBox that is populated by cells A1:A5 and I want to change that ListBox to only show cells A1:A3 based on other VBA code (a selection made from a separate ListBox), what is the best way for me to do that? Is removing the items in the ListBox then adding them back when I need them the best method? Or dynamically changing the range within the ListBox? If I were to change the cell range from A1:A5 to A1:A3 I wouldn’t want two blank rows to just hang out within the ListBox. Thank you.

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
How do you initially populate the ListBox?

If you set the ListFillRange you can just change it. I have never done this before in code but I would imagine that the cleanest method would be to first call ListBox1.Clear then update ListFillRange.

If you call ListBox1.Add in a loop to add values, then call ListBox1.Clear and run another loop to populate with different values.

Neither method will cause you to have two blank rows.

Upvote 0
How do you initially populate the ListBox?

If you set the ListFillRange you can just change it. I have never done this before in code but I would imagine that the cleanest method would be to first call ListBox1.Clear then update ListFillRange.

If you call ListBox1.Add in a loop to add values, then call ListBox1.Clear and run another loop to populate with different values.

Neither method will cause you to have two blank rows.
I initially populate the ListBox using the list fill range in the properties, I am using an Active X ListBox but I can change that to a Form Control if need be, I just liked the look of the Active X option better.