Compare two employee records to find differences i.e new employees & old employees and export updated rows to a new spreadsheet

philmac1976

Hello,

I'm new to Excel VBA I have been given a task to compare a set of the current months employee records to last months employee records. The goal is to a) find employees who are still in our group but may have changed managers b) find employees who are no longer in our group and c) find employees that are new to our group. Once this information has been compared between the two workbooks, it needs to be exported to a new spreadsheet that needs additional columns added for formatting in order to import the new spreadsheet in a tracking tool. For example, last months spreadsheet includes the tracking tool ID column and has a row for each employee. For an employee that is currently with the team they would need the tracking tool ID to be put in the newly generated spreadsheet. Additionally the current employee might have changed managers and that needs to be updated. A new column needs to be added to the new spreadsheet that shows that a current employee is "Active". For employees that are new to the team they won't have a tracking tool ID because they are new but would still need to be considered "Active". And for the employees that have left the group, they would also need the tracking tool ID from the old employee record but would need a column that would mark them "InActive" since they are no longer with the team. My last step is that I want to add a column called "Team" that would iterate through each employees managers and assign them to a specific team based on the manager that they have. Given that I'm new to VBA I've tried a combination of a) searching for comparison VBA code online - has partically helped b) recording a macro that could do some of the work (partially working) c) Developing my code while watching the Mr. Excel VBA videos on Safari Books which is definitely the right direction. Trying to to see if a