Compile Error: Argument not optional

Glitch5618

Board Regular
Using excel 2007.

I've been banging my head against the wall on this one for awhile now. I'm rather new to VBA so forgive me if this is a simple matter.

Basically I have a program that filters data, and based on the filters applied you click a button aptly named Get Data. This program has over 1600 lines of code so far so I have split up the code and placed it in standard modules based on its function, grouping similar code together.

In order to reference the code on the main user form from any given module I use code like this...
Code:
Sub RandomSub(f As UserForm)
So if I wanted to reference a combo box located on the user form I just use "f.combobox.value" within the module code, this has been working for me no problem.

What I'm trying to do now is when you click the Get Data button it shows another user form that contains a multi-column list box with the information. So the idea is on the main user form I run a sub that shows the "DataBox" user-form and then calls a subroutine contained within a module. That modules code searchs the data based on a selected filter from the main user-form and then loads that data to an array which I then assign to the list-box contained within the "DataBox" userform. I figured this would be a simple matter of just adding another letter to designate which userform it was referencing, such as...
Code:
Sub RandomSub(f As UserForm, D as DataBox)
However if I place this in any module and try to compile the code I get the error mentioned in the title. When I try to debug it just highlights the subroutine of the main user-form that is calling the module sub. What am I missing here?

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
I suspect that you haven't altered the code that calls this routine to add the new argument.

Upvote 0