Concatenate and Autofill

djsmarties

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Messages
95
Hi all,

I am running into problems with the concatenate/ filling funtion in my macro.

I am combining two cells and then the formula should autofill until my last row. I am using this succesfully with other formulas, but concatenate does not seem to want to do it.
Getting error message: "Autofill method of range class failed"
Am I missing something really obvious?

Thanks a lot

****************

Range("AT2").Select
Selection.AutoFill Destination:=Range("AT2:AT" & Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row), Type:=xlFillDefault
Range("AT7").Select

**********************
 

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.

northwolves

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
1,122
Code:
Range("AT2").Select 
Selection.AutoFill Destination:=Range("AT2:AT" & activesheet.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row), Type:=xlFillDefault 
Range("AT7").Select

cells is an object of worksheet.

Hope it helps.
 

northwolves

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
1,122
Code:
Range("AT2").Select 
Selection.AutoFill Destination:=Range("AT2:AT" & activesheet.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row), Type:=xlFillDefault 
Range("AT7").Select

cells is an object of worksheet.

Hope it helps.
 

djsmarties

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Messages
95
Thanks, I tried and changed my code to this, but i still get the autofill range error as before...


Range("A2").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=CONCATENATE(RC[1],RC[16])"

Range("A2").Select
Selection.AutoFill Destination:=Range("A2:A" & ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row), Type:=xlFillDefault
Range("A7").Select


Any ideas?
Thanks
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,329
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

Have you tried not using autofill?
Code:
Range("A2:A" & ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row).FormulaR1C1 = "=RC[1] &RC[16]"
 

djsmarties

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Messages
95
Thanks, I think we are getting a bit closer to a solution. I tried this:


Range("A2:A" & ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row).FormulaR1C1 = "=RC[1] &RC[16]"


Now I am not getting any error messages, but the formula is only inserted in cell A2, not in all cells in column A...

Thanks in advance for some more ideas
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,329
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

Perhaps you should be looking for the last row in another column?
 

djsmarties

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Messages
95
Thanks a lot for that hint :). I cannot believe I didnt spot that myself :oops:

Works fine now with

Range("A2:A" & ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, 2).End(xlUp).Row).FormulaR1C1 = "=RC[1] &RC[16]"
 

northwolves

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
1,122
Code:
[A2].Resize([B65536].End(xlUp).Row - 1, 1) = "=RC[1] &RC[16]"

Best Regards
 
Master Excel Bundle

Excel contains over 450 functions, with more added every year. That’s a huge number, so where should you start? Right here with this bundle.

Forum statistics

Threads
1,152,096
Messages
5,768,061
Members
425,451
Latest member
JohnBrooksBiddle

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top