Conditional Formula - How to Ignore Blank Cells

lkmw

Board Regular
I have a datasheet that contains customer dimensions and a column for the min and max allowed. Inspectors then enter their measurements which can be anywhere from 1 to 7 datapoints per dimension (quantity required varies by customer). I want to have a final column that compares each of the datapoints entered to the min and max values and indicates "OK" if they all are in tolerance, or "NOT OK" if any one or more is below min or above max. I am avoiding the macro route just because I am a novice and others here would not be able to interpret or fix either. So, I started testing a forula which at this point just has conditions for datapoints below the min. It works fine if I have data in all 7 cells. But, if I have less than 7 datapoints, it returns "NOT OK" due to the blank cells. How can I get it to ignore blanks?

Thanks in advance for the help.
0297_LW.xls
BCDEFGHIJKL
3SPECIFICATIONMINIMUMMAXIMUMSUPPLIER MEASUREMENT RESULTSRESULTS
4.100 +/- .0050.0950.1050.1000.1010.1020.0950.10150.0960.097OK
5.095/.1050.0950.1050.100NOT OK
Sheet1

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().
Try:

Code:
=IF(OR(MIN(E4:K4)<C4,MAX(E4:K4)>D4),"Not Ok","Ok")
copied down

Upvote 0
Code:
=IF(OR(MIN(E4:K4)<C4,MAX(E4:K4)>D4),"Not ","") & "OK"

<sup>edit</sup> DANG IT! Too slow! On the other hand, a very nice solution, NBVC :LOL: <sub>/edit</sub>

Upvote 0