Convert Excel formulas containing functions to a simple form

syedalisajjad

Hello Everyone,

I am a beginner with VBA. I want write a macro to convert a formula which contains functions to a simple form. e.g. D12+SUM(E22:E26) should be converted to D12+E22-E26 or D12+SUM(E22:E26)-SUM(F12:F15)-D20+SUM(G12:G14) should be converted to D12+E22+E23+E24+E25+E26-F12+F13+F14+F15-D20+G12+G13+G14.

I have been trying a lot but no success......Can someone please help me out.......or if someone has already done such sort of thing?

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December

ShawnPCooke

Board Regular
Here are some possibilities for you.

1) First, you have to parse the existing formula. I assume you know that you can get to the formula in a cell using the Range.Formula property. Assign that to a text value and chop off the equal sign. Next, scan through for the operators + and -. (I'm assuming there is no multiplication or division in any of this?) Load everything between those operators into an array of strings, and the operators into a different array. (Assume the first operator is positive.)

So for example:

=SUM(E6:E10)+F10-SUM(D10:D14)

This would yield two arrays:

{SUM(E6:E10),F10,SUM(D10:D14)}
{+,+,-}

2) Now, you want to look through that first array to expand it out, if necessary. I'm just going to discuss expanding SUM, but it would work similarly if you have other functions you need to expand.

First, search the string to see if the term SUM is found. If not, assume it cannot be decomposed, and move on to the next string in the array.

If you did find it, then get rid of the SUM( at the beginning and the ) at the end, and define a variable of type Range using the text left over as the range.