Copy row from Sheet1 to another worksheet based on reference cell on Sheet1

AmandaBA041017

Hello All

I've been searching the forums for a solution to my dilemma, but my knowledge of functions is basic to intermediate, and VBA non-existent. Apologies if a similar post has been made. Chances are I looked at it, but didn't understand.

I have a master list of quotes on Sheet1 (titled "2017Quotes"). Column A is the first initial of the sales rep, and columns B through Q contain quote data. Based on the initial in Column A, I would like to have the whole row copy to a worksheet with the same initial. This would allow each sales rep to have a list of their quotes, as well allow me to maintain a master list.

Ideally, when I update Sheet1, the linked sheet would update as well.

Example spreadsheet can be found on my google drive: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8Q4B-Emo2YUZ2haRWZPUlRPdEE/view?usp=sharing

Thank you in advance for sharing your expertise!

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
You said:
Column A is the first initial of the sales rep

So if the sales Reps name is George Brown
You would have in column (A) "G" is that correct?
And you would want this row copied to a sheet named "G"

What happens if you have more then one sales Rep with the same initial?
We cannot have two sheets with the same name.

Sales Reps should always have unique identifying numbers

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Correct, first initial of the first name only, copied to a sheet with the same initial. Appreciate the thought. We are a small company and trying to assign my sales reps numbers would only confuse them. Should we run into a situation where we have two of the same initials, someone will just have to change their name. :LOL:

Upvote 0
Hello All