Copying formatting

srizki

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
1,824
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
am trying to copy format from one sheet to another, and this is how it goes,

I receive a worksheet every month from another department, and then I sort that worksheet the way we want by moving rows up or down by cutting and pasting.

Let me give an example, in original sheet I receive asset numbers in column A and they are grouped by the location, I change the group by kind of assets regardless of where it is. There are sub-totals and blank rows after sub-totals.



I do this every month. I am sure there must be a better and faster way to do it, can anyone please help me.
 

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
Hi,

this is not "formatting" to my sense but layout of your data
can you provide an example of what you get and what you expect as a result, so basically a table BEFORE + AFTER
post only relevant information

you can use colo's HTMLmaker (see bottom page) or Table-It (see my signature)

kind regards,
Erik
 

srizki

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
1,824
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Original

EDIT: Removed HTML - Smitty
 

srizki

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
1,824
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

this is what I want, (I think I used big file, it did not paste both at the same time, Sorry).
I removed the html
 

srizki

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
1,824
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
EDIT: Removed HTML - Smitty
 

srizki

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
1,824
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

You are right Eric, it is layout, not formatting, I am having difficulty putting in html correctly, every time it says the file is too big, and it pastes a part of if, but as you got it correct, I need to change lay out my way, each month without repeating the same thing again and again, cut and pasted rows ans subtotal them, I can do sub-total later but the main thing is lay out.
thanks
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hi:

Having one post with the same questiuon should be sufficient....see my posts.

plettieri
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
I do not understand what you want (I copied your tables to Excel and can not see what you want to do since the result you posted is only 2 rows of titles + 4 rows of data :confused: ) there is no logic for me

+ the layout is ugly due to the "large tables":
click EDIT and clear the posts with large tables, else the entire webpage will stay unreadable (at least it is for me)

the small tables can stay, (but I do not understand)
so try again to be clear

EDIT: didn't see this message
I am having difficulty putting in html correctly
if you use Table-It I can paste the tables at once instead of needing work 5 minutes extra to clean up the mess
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
Hi:

Having one post with the same questiuon should be sufficient....see my posts.

plettieri
do you mean this is a duplicate ?
can you provide the link ?
please report so the moderators can decide

best regards,
Erik
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,141,669
Messages
5,707,726
Members
421,525
Latest member
carian1980

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top