COUNTIF based on two criteria--Help

Radsan

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
13
I have data in two columns. Column B has calculated string values of "BMAJOR" and "BMINOR" and column C has date values.

I am trying to get a count of how many occurences of "BMAJOR" or "BMINOR" occur for every week starting today. I have column AJ which returns today() and column AK which returns today()+7. I can individually count number of occurences of dates that fall within these dates with the following formula. This for row 2.

=COUNTIF('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215,"<="&AK2)-COUNTIF('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215,"<"&AJ2)

This counts number of dates between two dates computed in columns AJ(today()) & AK(today()+7). I am now trying to count only those dates that fall within the week, which have "BMAJOR" in the corresponding column in the same row.

I tried using an AND statement:

=(COUNTIF(('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215,"<="&AK2)*('Decision Tree'!$B$4:$B$215,"=BMAJOR")))-(COUNTIF(('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215,"<="&AJ2)*('Decision Tree'!$B$4:$B$215,"=BMAJOR")))

I also tried entering it as an array and naming the ranges. But it returns an error every time. Any help will be highly appreciated. Below is a sample data for next week:
sample-sm41.jpg


So basically for week 17/09/2007 to 24/09/2007 the formula should return values of 4 (BMAJOR) and 4 (BMINOR).

I would be grateful for any help or ideas.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.

nachiketdp

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
53
Make a column for concatenate of bmajor/bminor and the date. now put the criteria as the concatenated value of bmajor/bminor and the date.

HTH,
Regards,
Nachiket Pendharkar
 

barry houdini

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
20,825
Assuming you want to count for just seven days, i.e. today and the next 6 days

=SUMPRODUCT(--('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215< AK2),--('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 >=AJ2),--('Decision Tree'!$B$4:$B$215="BMINOR"))
 

Radsan

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
13
Many thanks for your responses.

I tried this one:

=SUMPRODUCT(--('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215< AK2),--('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 >=AJ2),--('Decision Tree'!$B$4:$B$215="BMINOR"))

But I only get #NA in the computed column. No idea why..

I can concatenate the values, but what criteria? Based on text, right/left formulas?
 

barry houdini

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
20,825

ADVERTISEMENT

But I only get #NA in the computed column. No idea why..

This probably means you have #N/A values somewhere in the data in 'Decision Tree'!$B$4:$C$215. If you can eliminate the error values the formula should work
 

Radsan

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
13
This probably means you have #N/A values somewhere in the data in 'Decision Tree'!$B$4:$C$215. If you can eliminate the error values the formula should work
Yes, I have #NA values in some of the rows.

But these are by design and the #NA is meant to be there. Is there a way I can account for these?

So I was mistaken when asking for help. The column can contain 3 values, viz., BMAJOR, BMINOR & #NA. Apologies.
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,203

ADVERTISEMENT

This probably means you have #N/A values somewhere in the data in 'Decision Tree'!$B$4:$C$215. If you can eliminate the error values the formula should work
Yes, I have #NA values in some of the rows.

But these are by design and the #NA is meant to be there. Is there a way I can account for these?

So I was mistaken when asking for help. The column can contain 3 values, viz., BMAJOR, BMINOR & #NA. Apologies.

Code:
=SUMPRODUCT(
     --('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 >= AJ2),
     --('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 < AK2),
     --ISNUMBER(MATCH('Decision Tree'!$B$4:$B$215,{"BMINOR"},0)))
 

Radsan

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
13
Code:
=SUMPRODUCT(
     --('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 >= AJ2),
     --('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 < AK2),
     --ISNUMBER(MATCH('Decision Tree'!$B$4:$B$215,{"BMINOR"},0)))
Thanks for the code and all the help. I really appreciate it.

But I am still getting #NA in the computed cell. Maybe it will help if I post a sample of the data showing columns/rows containing the #NA cells. I am sure this is because, where column B contains #NA, column C will also inevitably contain #NA as shown below.

sample-sjz1.jpg


I can do some medium level excel stuff, but such code is beyond me. As such, even with the code presented in a platter, I have no idea what it is doing and need to study this a bit more. :biggrin:

I will be grateful for any further help.
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,203
Control+shift+enter...

Code:
=SUM(
    IF(ISNUMBER('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215), 
    IF('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 >= AJ2, 
    IF('Decision Tree'!$C$4:$C$215 < AK2, 
    IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH('Decision Tree'!$B$4:$B$215,{"BMINOR"},0)),
      1)))))
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,127,065
Messages
5,622,475
Members
415,897
Latest member
Barry18180

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top