Creating a pop up to recieve user input

Hairywizard

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, this is my first time posting. I'm trying to come up with a way to prompt a user to enter certain data, such as a name of a team member, start and end times of a task, and the category of that task. Once the data is entered I would like it to automatically sort into various cells based on characteristics of the category ( like specific numbers found in an ID that are always in the same location in the sequence, but give information about the task itself). I was thinking of a pop-up that can be called by clicking a button that would have fields for the inputs to make it more user friendly for people other than myself. The end goal is to have a way to track multiple tasks over the course of a day and seperate them out so I can see the productivity of each individual task rather than an average daily productivity. I'm not asking to have the problem solved for me but I would like to know what is possible and what methods might make sense for this application. Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Welcome to the Board!

What are you describing sounds like it might be a Relational Database to me, and Microsoft Access is a much better tool for that, as Access is a Relational Database program and Excel is not.
However, if you are unable to use Microsoft Access (or are not proficient enough in it to create a database in it), and if you will be using Excel, it sounds like you will need quite a bit of VBA, and maybe some user forms for your data entry.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

What are you describing sounds like it might be a Relational Database to me, and Microsoft Access is a much better tool for that, as Access is a Relational Database program and Excel is not.