Creating Optimal Pallets from Sales Orders

AdamLeonardo

Hi All,

I have a problem I could use some help with. I am trying to divide sales orders into pallets and haven’t been able to figure this out. I have a decent amount of experience with Excel, but I am by no means an expert.

Our company produces 10 different products that we ship out. Product A can fit 48 units per pallet. Product B can fit 72. Product C can fit 40, etc… We use percentages to determine how much of each product can fit on a pallet. For instance, if we are shipping 16 units of Product A and 12 units of Product B, we would be able to put both on one pallet (16/48 + 12/72 = 50% of a full pallet). We can’t divide the remainder of products between multiple pallets; for example, if we are shipping 142 units of Product A and 76 of Product B, we would have 2 full pallets of 48 units of Product A, 1 pallet of 46 units of A, 1 full pallet of 72 units of B and 1 pallet of 4 units of B. We couldn’t put 1 unit of B with the 46 units of A and then the remaining 3 units of B alone. The B units would have to stay together.

Sales Order
QtyPer PalletQty/PltFull PalletsRemainder (Qty-Full*Per Pallet)% of Pallet
(Remainder/Per Pallet)
Product A110482.2921429%
Product B30720.4203042%
Product C98402.4521845%
Product D2161002.1621616%
Product E72721.00100%

<tbody>
</tbody>

So A, B and C couldn’t go on one pallet because their % adds up to 116%. A, (B or C) and D can go together because they total to less than 100%. We may have a situation where 3 products each make up more than 50% of a pallet and can't be combined.