Cutting and pasting (and deleting rows) between multiple sheet spreadsheet with macros.

t20racerman

Hi all

I really hope you can help. I'm a Physics teacher using an exam board generated spreadsheet in which I can keep track of all my student's practical work over a minimum of 12 assessed practicals - I have to keep these records as part of their assessment. You can download the spreadsheet I'm using here to see what I mean:

http://filestore.aqa.org.uk/resources/physics/AQA-7408-EET.XLSX

In the L6th form I had three of these sheets - one for each group, and all went well. However, in the U6th, some students dropped the subject and the groups were all swapped around so that the remaining students are in different groups.

I've tried deleting students who've dropped the subject - and cant. It just messes up the spreadsheet.
I need to move students and their data from one sheet to another - and can't see how to do so.
Alternatively, could I merge the three sheets somehow and have them all on the same sheet if that is easier?

The spreadsheet was put together by the AQA exam board. I phoned their advisors for help and was told "find someone who knows Excel"! They offer no support whatsoever.

I could set up new spreadsheets for my U6th groups, but would then need to cut and paste all the filled in data across from last year's work.

I would appreciate any help or guidance here.

Thanks
Adrian

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
Adrian,

See if the below helps by semi-automating the process.
Do backup original files before testing.

Assumes ....
You have 3 files for Lower 6 Groups
Number of sheets in all files is same - 19
Tabs are in same order as the original blank file.
3 new groups for U6

Create 3 fresh file and name U6G1, U6G2 & U6G3, having cleared the sample data as appropriate.
Have all three of these files open.