Dashboard with linked images running too slow

Jayy2121

Hello!!

I'm building a high level audience dashboard and am setting it up so arrows and circles on the dashboard page change direction and color based on values on a worksheet page. Since I am not good with Macros and can't guarantee the audience will not turn them off when opening the file, I'm doing this without macros.

I have about 250 or so areas on the 5 "front page" tabs that will update when I update the values in the worksheet behind the scenes (same workbook). I've done gthis using two methods: I have used linked images off conditionally formatted cells to create colored circles.

I have also linked blank images to named cell ranges with those ranges corresponding to Index formulas that look up the cell with the correct arrow based on the corresponding data point. This is how I get the arrow color and shape to change as the data changes. The Index formulas are only looking up across 4 rows and 2 columns so not overly complex.

It all looks so pretty and clean BUT the **** thing is super slow to respond to any modification including selection of drop downs.

Example: I created a time period selection drop down (3 choices) that feed the 5 dashboard tabs. When I click on the drop down, the screen seems to freeze, the spinning wheel pops up, and the title of the top contains (Not responding). It may do this for 15-30 seconds before showing me the options and allowing me to select. Once I've selected, the same thing happens before the data updates. No Calculating count up, just a freeze.

Since this dashboard is being made for a high level audience, this kind of a glitchy lag will make my otherwise sleek and cool dashboard seem clunky and unresponsive.